An Australian ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’

INTRODUCTION

In the wave of exposure of sexual impropriety in the film industry, I, a crusading Chinese academic who has been subjected to sexual harassment, reckless discrimination and victimisation in Monash University, heard a special voice from Jane Fonda, “[Harvey Weinstein’s accusers are getting attention because they] are white and famousThis has been going on a long time to black women and other women of colour, and it doesn’t get out quite the same.”[1] This voice awakened my faith that time always reveals the truth and truth speaks loudly no matter how tiny I am. Fonda’s voice rekindled my impossible dream “to fight the unbeatable foe, to right the unrightable wrong, to run where the brave dare not to go, no matter how hopeless, no matter how far, fight for the right, and the world will be better for this [2]. It is my obligation to expose to the World the enormously grave miscarriage of justice in my case of sexual harassment and discrimination from Monash University, an Australian ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ which involves gender injustice, racial prejudice, and destruction of innocence.

SEXUAL HARASSMENT IN MONASH UNIVERSITY

Shortly after joining Monash University as a faculty in May 2008, I began encountering sexual advances from a married Australian man, George Simon, the Head of Department, who was also my direct line manager. For instance, sexual expression of “[wanting to] have nice peace and quiet time with you” in exchange of career promotion opportunity (read more),“I missed you”, touching me at breast, bottom and leg (read more) . My emotion and reactions evolved from being confused, uncomfortable, then humiliated but remaining silent during my probation period, and finally angry and making abundantly clear rejections. Read more, and more

Towards the end of my probation, a number of professors became aware of George Simon’s inappropriate behaviours towards me, approaching me with lines like “Do you have problems with George [Simon]?” (Tam Sridhar in his office) “How’re things going on with George? (Paul Webley while walking with me in the Dean’s Garden) “I concerned about you.” (James Friend when he and I bumped into each other in the Campus Centre) “Let me know if you need help” (Maria Forsyth over a department conference) “Do you have any problems in the department? Let me know if you need help.”(Yibing Cheng, in his car after the departmental conference). “How is your relationship with George? Talk with people. Don’t keep it to yourself” (Kerry Hourigan while walking in Clayton campus around Building 19). Eventually, some of them raised their concerns to the faculty’s leaders.  

COVERUPS BY THE HARASSER GEORGE SIMON

When the sex scandal broke, the striking attempts of cover-ups invested by the harasser and Monash University not only revealed the guilty of the original deed -what is masked must be ugly, but eventually were far more reprehensible than the original one.

While I still stayed quiet, George Simon engaged in a number of malicious attempts to set me up for the purpose of diverting the nature of the issue. On one occasion, George Simon intentionally, constructively and with significant effort, arranged to have a business trip with me alone, for the purposes of sexual propositioning and attempted coercion, using a position of authority to his advantage. Having carried out this heinous frame-up to entrap me, George Simon then told lie after lie immediately after the trip. Simon did so by typing up a “contemporaneous” note saturated with falsities, accusing me of the malicious intent that he himself was harbouring [3]. However, Simon’s false depictions have all been contradictory to and thus uncovered by his own evidence. Read more with evidence


VICTIMISATION BY THE ACADEMIC FACULTY

While George Simon was plotting and trapping me for an affair, the faculty Dean Tam Sridhar, his Associate Deans Murray Rudman and Chris Davies, and George Simon himself jointly engaged in a series of victimisation for the purpose of constructive dismissal. The reckless victimisation effectively invited me to speak up for the sake of my health and safety. Read more, more,and more


COVERUPS BY MONASH UNIVERSITY

In order to conceal the scandal, Monash University’s investigator forged evidence during internal investigation for the purpose of using my Chinese origin as a tool to mask wrongdoings. Having the falsified recording, Monash University produced an apparently pre-determined conclusion that the matter was a misunderstanding due to English was my second language. This is despite the fact that I have been teaching in English and my lecturing was ranked the 8th out of 220 courses in Engineering Faculty at Monash University, publishing work intensively in English with prestigious publishers and top international journals (Link1 and Link2), and that I could not possibly misunderstand the physical touches on my body (breast, buttocks and leg). In the above circumstance, Monash University has directly engaged in racial discrimination.

Monash University leaders believed that they could –most likely they already had– have succeeded in covering up the truth by effective concealment [4].  Indeed, the falsification was plotted by Monash University HR carefully and perfectly and conducted by the Monash hired investigator flawlessly, except for one element they ignored: instructed by my then lawyer, I taped all oral communications which I was a party of during the internal investigation. The disturbingly deceitful manner and ugly racial discriminating view of Monash University badly escalated the matter to my litigation. Read more with evidence


COVER-UPS BY AUSTRALIAN FEDERAL COURT

During the court trial, facing undeniable evidence that proved my claims, the Federal Court of Australia under the influence of Monash University engaged in fraud upon court. One of the most striking judicial misconducts is the mistranscribed records of court proceedings which are saturated with more than 20,000 misleading falsities, alterations, and omissions. Read more with evidence 


FINANCIAL THREATS FOR THE PURPOSE OF SILENCING ME

Monash University and the Australian court attempted to use financial hardship as a tool to supress my press of the truth. During the litigation, Monash University provost, Edwina Cornish, who had no power to terminate academic employment, issued a termination letter of my employment. After the litigation, the Court ordered me, an unemployed individual, to pay Monash University, a corporate of billions dollars, the costs of a staggering figure, $900,000 –this figure has set a world record, to my best knowledge. Monash University proposed to me, no enforcement of costs if I agree to remain silent (without any compensations). I rejected the proposal and began my petition with the United Nations. Read more


Toxic Media Propaganda

An Australian lawyer [5], in an attempt of dissuading me from my litigation, said that the judicial system of Australia is very much anti-Asia.

In March 20## shortly after Judge Tracey dismissed my case on 27 Feb 20##, Australian media, through an Australian senior surgeon, openly advised sexually harassed victims that “better to have given him a blow-job. What I tell my trainees is that, if you are approached for sex, probably the safest thing to do in terms of your career is to comply with the request. The worst thing you could possibly do is to complain to the supervising body, because then … you can be sure that you will never be appointed ….” (Read more) which is exactly the same bullshit as that of Harvey Weinstein, who reportedly told a young actress in 2000 that complying with his requests was “the best thing you can do for your career now.” (Read more)

In October 20##, Australian media openly declared that Monash University has the privilege and power to mask sexual harassment misdeeds. Read more


WARRANTS FOR MY SILENCE

A Victoria County court issued three orders of my silence, and intimidated me that if I continue my press I would be arrested. Not only that, the court neither informed me of the proceedings nor, of course, tried in my presence. The conduct of making the three orders itself is in violation of fundamental human rights. The United Nations declares: “everyone shall be entitled to the following minimum guarantees, in full equality, (a) To be informed, …, (d) to be tried in his presence” [6]. Read more with evidence


DEATH-THREATS FOR THE PURPOSE OF SILENCING ME

On 28 December, I received a DVD of Maniac Cops 2, with a line “…Remain Silent Forever” on the cover of the case. Read The Australian:

“Maniac Cop 2, definitely not a threat”=  Black colour, definitely not black

Given the norm of universities and government authorities, if they threaten, the treat have to be indirect, veiled and subtle. They would never threaten as directly as “we are coming to kill you”.

I fled Australia.

Since then private agents hired by Monash University and/or Australian State have been locating, stalking, harassing and death-threatening me in Chengdu (Sichuan University Pittsburgh Institute, SCUPI) and Beijing. Under the circumstance where the perpetrators have the motive of assassination and have the capacity to do so, anything is possible. To minimise possibilities of assassination, I give up cycling on street and road, always cross street or road with other passengers (to avoid road accident), always take lift with other residents or climb up and down if I am on my own (to avoid lift accidents),  and never order cuisines online (to avoid food poisoning). 

Read more, more, and more with videos and audio


Character Assassination FOR THE PURPOSE OF KILLING THE TRUTH

Since the beginning of the litigation, Monash University has been running a deliberate and sustained process that aims to destroy my credibility and reputation. Monash University employs a mix of open and covert methods to achieve its goals, including framing me up, making false accusations against me, planting and fostering rumours, and manipulating information.

​What irritated Monash University’s HR the most is that they could hardly find any dirt in my records both privately and professionally in any countries I had stayed, including China, Hong Kong, the United Kingdom, Continental European countries, and Australia. Then Monash University headed towards a criminal direction: If no dirt, then make it. Monash University manoeuvred a series of frame-ups entrapping me to engage in misbehaviour or misconducts. But all plots have been failed. Read more

After a series of failures in victim-misbehaviour trapping, Monash University engaged in attacking my character, one of cover-up typologies listed in Wikipedia. More specifically, Monash University engaged in tarnishing my character traits through planting and fostering rumours: mental-disordered and trouble-maker. Read more

Even plot assasination/murder (more), a final solution listed in Wikipedia Coverup. To readers: If something happens to me, it is definaly not accident.

I HAVE TRANSFORMED

The extraordinary journey boosted the strength inside of me that I never knew before and transformed me tremendously. The best way to describe who I was during the three years of my probation would be Liz Meriwether’s article I’m a coward. “I don’t have enough money for a lawyer. I don’t want to suddenly become unemployable because of something he chose to do to me. Was it that big of a deal? … It wasn’t an assault … What if I said something and he stopped me from getting another job? So I made a decision: I chose to stay quiet. I kept working with him. As I said, I’m a coward.”

However my silence and loyalty to the fault was not appreciated by either the harasser George Simon or the faculty leaders, including the Dean Tam Sridhar and his Associate Deans. Eventually I found myself being loyal to faults even crimes, and staying quiet to the point of being too unhealthy and unsafe for me to remain like that. I would not label me as an altruistic whistle-blower who blows out ugliness for the well-being of other people. I was only a victim who was invited to fight -though reluctantly, by the reckless victimisation, for my basic human right –my health and safety in workplace [7].

MY GLORIOUS QUEST

The disturbingly deceitful management of Monash University has also shaped my goal. What I want the most, is for this to result in healing for me and all the victims. For Monash University, as well as Australian Universities, to admit and apologise for their mishandling of sexual harassment and racial discrimination and to start taking their responsibility for the problems.

To Monash perpetrators, including George Simon, Tam Sridhar, Nick Birbilis, Andrew Picouleau, Edwina Cornish, Murray Rudman, Chris Davies, it is time to admit your wrongs.

​To good men: Do not allow this behaviour to be normalised. Do not allow yourselves to be numb to the voices of victims coming forward. Do not chose to look the other way when powerful men continued their path of abuse. “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”[8]

To victims: Do not stop demanding our civil rights. You are breaking the silence. You are revolution. [9]

To Gretchen Carlson, I admire you for setting a positive encouraging model forewomen to fight and win.

To the World, sexual harassment has been going on a long time to Asian women and other women of colour, and it often gets out completely opposite. ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ still occurs in many countries and regions, and especially rife in Australia. “Why aren’t we discussing about all the thousands and thousands of women who’ve lost their jobs?” [10]

To Jane Fonda, I am grateful to you for your honest, decent voice.

References

[1] https://www.msn.com/en-us/video/music/jane-fonda-says-weinstein-victims-are-famous-and-white/vp-AAu5x8T

[2] Impossible Dream, by Andy Williams 

[3]“Even if a woman starts to recognize the manipulation tactics being used against her in the workplace, the Covert Aggressor will often resort to accusing the woman of the malicious intent that they themselves are harbouring.” https://www.huffingtonpost.com/jill-dahl/the-shocking-truth-about-_4_b_6181574.html 

[4] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cover-up 

[5] MAX LEGAL -Workplace Lawyers, web: maxlegal.com.au  beatyourboss.net

[6] Article 14.3(d) of International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR)

[7]“After all, being safe at work is both a basic human right and a business imperative.”-Elizabeth Broderick, Sex Discrimination Commissioner Australian Human Rights Commission. https://www.humanrights.gov.au/our-work/sex-discrimination/publications/ending-workplace-sexual-harassment-resource-small-medium

[8] http://quoteinvestigator.com/2010/12/04/good-men-do/

[9] http://www.etonline.com/ellen-page-says-brett-ratner-outed-me-powerful-post-about-sexual-harassment-hollywood-90846

[10] By Gretchen Carlson. https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/gretchen-carlson-blasts-roy-moore-supporters-reached-rock-232342170.html

Read More:

  1. Monash University Forging Evidence to Mask Sexual Harassment

莫纳什大学掩盖白人性骚扰,精心策划伪证,诡计多端(中文版)

  • Following Chen’s rejection to sexual advance, Monash University managers waged a systemic victimisation

Monash University Systemic discrimination (1) —Associate Dean Murray Rudman

中文版

Monash University Systemic discrimination (2) —Dean Tam Sridhar

中文版

Monash University Systemic discrimination (3) –-Harasser George Simon

中文版

Monash University Systemic discrimination (4) —Associate Dean Chris Davies

中文版

Monash University Systemic discrimination (5) —Head of Department Nick Birbilis

中文版

Monash University Systemic discrimination (6) —Monash Provost Adam Shoemaker

Monash University Systemic discrimination (7) —Monash Provost Edwina Cornish

Lady, it’s your fault to take your career seriously

A Good Story: Australian Thief

  • After Monash forging evidence was exposed and Chen began her petition to the United Nations, Monash University and Australian authorities waged a series of criminal acts:

Monash University Public Cyber-Harassment, as Low as It Gets

Shocking, Ugly Media Propaganda: Victim Comply with Harassers’ Request

Inapt Plot of Making a Misconduct

Inapt Plot of Making a Trouble-Maker

Death-Threatening Chen

Foul Play of Monash University: Poisoning the Victim

Felony of Monash University -Altering Court Order

Australian Hired Hooligans Attacking Chen at Her Place in Beijing China

 中文版

Inapt plot of assassination (I)

Inapt plot of assassination (II)

An Australian ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’

Leave a comment